

# APPLICATION FOR OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE REGISTRATION DECAL FOR AN OHV PURCHASED FROM A PRIVATE PARTY AFTER 7/1/2012

## NRS 490.082 and 490.105

### **General Information**

- To receive a registration decal for an off-highway vehicle (OHV) that you **purchased from a Private Party after July 1, 2012**, complete all sections of this form and mail the form and fees to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at the address above or bring the forms and fees to a Nevada OHV dealer.
- This transaction may be completed by mail or through a Nevada OHV dealer. **OHV transactions <u>cannot</u> be completed at DMV offices.**
- Complete one application per off-highway vehicle.
- The cost of a registration decal is \$21 (which includes a technology fee) and is valid for one year from the date of issuance.
- Make check or money order payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Do not send cash.
- If paying by credit or debit card, please use form OHV-013, Payment Authorization.
- OHV fees are not transferable or refundable.
- Nevada law requires the owner of an OHV to apply for a registration decal within 30 days of acquiring ownership.
- Your registration decal will be mailed to you.
- The OHV registration decal allows operation of the OHV off-road only.
- A Large All-Terrain Vehicle registration decal allows operation on a general or minor county road as defined in <u>NRS 403.170</u> if the requirements of <u>NRS 490</u> are met. Large ATV defined *"Large all-terrain vehicle" means any all-terrain vehicle that includes seating capacity for at least two people abreast and: 1. Total seating capacity for at least four people; or 2. A truck bed.*
- If your vehicle is currently registered for on road use, you must surrender your license plates before you can register the vehicle as an OHV.
- Please visit the OHV Commission website at <u>www.nvohv.com</u> for additional information.

### Instructions

Part I

- Select the type of registration being requested OHV Registration or Large All-Terrain Vehicle Registration (Form number OHV-031 needs to be completed and submitted with this application. Large OHV Registration requires insurance that meets requirements of <u>NRS 485.185</u>).
- Enter the vehicle identification number (VIN) of the OHV.
  - If the OHV does not have a VIN, it must be taken to a Nevada DMV inspection station. Please visit the OHV Commission website at <u>www.nvohv.com</u> for additional information.
  - If the OHV has never been registered or titled in Nevada, a VIN inspection by a Nevada licensed off-highway vehicle dealer or member of law enforcement is required. Please see form OHV-002, Off-Highway Vehicle Inspection Certificate. The DMV does not perform Off-Highway Vehicle VIN inspections.
- Enter the model year, OHV make (such as Polaris, Yamaha, Ski-Doo, etc.), OHV model (such as Ranger, YZ 250, Summit, etc.), and date of purchase.
- Choose a vehicle type from the supplied check boxes. If *Other* is chosen, please provide a brief explanation of the OHV type.
- Enter the Nevada County the OHV will be based in.
- If a VIN was assigned, an additional \$2 fee for a total of \$23 is due along with a completed Form OHV-005, Off-Highway Vehicle Identification Number Assignment, completed by a DMV inspector.

### Part II

- Enter the full legal name of the applicant as it appears on the Nevada Driver's License or Identification Card, or the name of the business if the OHV will be registered to a business.
- Enter the number on the applicant's Nevada Driver's license or ID card, or the FEIN if the OHV is to be registered to a business. If the owner does not have a Nevada Driver's license, ID card or FEIN for a business, write "NONE."
- Enter the applicant's date of birth; leave Date of Birth blank when the owner is a business or trust.
- Enter the applicant's phone number and email address.
- Enter the complete physical and mailing address of the applicant.

### Part III

• Sign Part III of the form; this is your declaration, under penalty of perjury, that you purchased the OHV from a private party and no sales tax is due.



# APPLICATION FOR OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE REGISTRATION DECAL FOR AN OHV PURCHASED FROM A PRIVATE PARTY AFTER 7/1/2012

#### Please Type or Print Using Blue or Black Ink

### Part I

□ OHV Registration

□ Large All-Terrain Vehicle Registration (Form OHV-031, Large ATV Insurance Declaration must also be completed and submitted) "Large all-terrain vehicle" means any all-terrain vehicle that includes seating capacity for at least two people abreast and: 1. Total seating capacity for at least four people; or 2. A truck bed. Large OHV Registration requires insurance that meets requirements of <u>NRS 485.185</u>.

Vehicle Identification Number:

Year:	Make:		_ Model:			Date Purch	ased:	
OHV Type:	□ Motorcycle	□ Snowmobile	🗆 Ali T	errain Vehic	le 🗆 🤅	Side-by-Side	•	Dune Buggy
	□ Other (Please	Explain)						
County Base	d In:			-				
Fees due:	Registration					\$21	<u>\$</u>	21
	VIN Assignment	(If Applicable)				\$ 2	\$_	·····
Part II					Total	Fees Due	\$_	
	Vehicle Owner Infor	mation						
Full Legal Na	ime:	As it appears on the Neva	ada Driver's Li	cense or Identif	ication Card, o	r Business Nan	ne	
Nevada Drive	er's License Number							
Date of Birth:		Phone Number:		E-Ma	ail (Optional	):		
Physical Add	ress:							
	Address			City		Sta	ate	Zip Code
Mailing Addre	ess:							
	Address			City		Sta	ate	Zip Code
Dart III								

#### Part III

I hereby certify, under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of Nevada that all statements in this application and any accompanying documents are true and correct. I further understand that any misstatement of facts may be a misdemeanor or felony and may be punishable pursuant to NRS 193.130.

Applicant Signature:	Date:	
Company name if OHV is registered to a company:		



## **OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE INSPECTION CERTIFICATE** For Off-Highway Vehicle Identification Number Verification

#### NRS 490.082 and 490.105

- This application must be completed if the Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) has never been registered or titled in Nevada, or if the owner is unsure if the OHV has ever been registered or titled in Nevada.
- This application must be completed by a Nevada licensed OHV dealer or Law Enforcement Officer. The DMV does not perform off-highway vehicle identification number (VIN) inspections.
- If the OHV does not have a vehicle identification number or the VIN has been removed or is illegible, indicate by checking the box that states "A VIN was not found, has been removed or is illegible." Complete the remainder of the form and give the form to the customer. The customer must take the OHV and the completed form to a DMV inspection station. Even if no VIN is found, this form must be completed by an OHV dealer or member of law enforcement and given to the customer.
- No other OHV transactions can be completed at DMV offices. All forms and fees must be mailed to the DMV at the address above, or taken to a licensed Nevada OHV dealer.
- Please visit the OHV Commission website at <u>www.nvohv.com</u> for additional information.

## To be completed by a Nevada licensed OHV dealer or any Law Enforcement Officer

#### Please Type or Print Using Blue or Black Ink

I certify that I have examined the following Off-Highway Vehicle:

Vehicle Identific	ation Number								
□ A VIN was	not found, has bee	en removed or is il	legible.						
Year:	Make:		Model:			Date of	Inspectio	on:	
OHV Type:	□ Motorcycle	□ Snowmobile	□ All	Terrain Vel	nicle	$\Box$ Side by	Side	🗆 Dune E	Buggy
	Other (Please E	Explain)							
Remarks									
Authorized Insp	ector – Printed Nar	me							
							Dealer	or Badge Num	ber
Authorized Insp	ector – Signature _								
□ Enforceme	ent Agency								
	• • •	Age							
Nevada Lie	censed OHV Deale	er							
		Dea	ership Name	<b>:</b>					



# OFF- HIGHWAY VEHICLE BILL OF SALE

NRS 490.082

General Information

- This form releases interest in an Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV). A Certificate of Title or other ownership documents must accompany this form.
- A new form must be completed if any alterations, corrections or erasures are made.
- Please use form OHV-001C, Application For Registration Of An Off-Highway Vehicle Purchased From A Private Party, to register your off-highway vehicle.
- OHV transactions cannot be completed at DMV offices. All forms and fees (if any) must be mailed to the DMV at the address above, or taken to a licensed Nevada off-highway vehicle dealer.
- Please visit the DMV website at <u>nvohv.com</u> for additional information.

Instructions

- Enter the purchase price of the OHV.
- Enter the vehicle identification number (VIN) of the OHV. If the OHV does not have a VIN because the OHV is homemade or the VIN has been removed or is unreadable, the OHV must be taken to a DMV office for inspection. Please visit the DMV website at <u>nvohv.com</u> for additional information.
- Enter the model year, OHV make (such as Polaris, Yamaha, Ski-Doo, etc), OHV model (such as Ranger, YZ 250, Summit, etc), and date of application.
- Choose a vehicle type from the supplied check boxes. If *Other* is chosen please provide a brief explanation of the OHV type.
- Enter the full legal name of the new owner as it appears on the Nevada Driver's License or Identification Card, or the name of the business if the OHV will be registered to a business.
- Indicate "and" or "or" between names if more than one owner. *And* or no indicator requires signatures of all owners to make changes to the Certificate of Title of the OHV. An *or* indicator means any owner may sign to make changes to the Certificate of Title of the OHV.
- Enter the number on the new owner's Nevada Driver's license or ID card, or the FEIN if the OHV is to be registered to a business. If the owner does not have a Nevada Driver's license, ID card or FEIN for a business, write "NONE."
- Leave Date of Birth blank when the new owner is a business or trust.
- If more than one new owner, repeat the steps above for the second owner.
- Enter the complete physical and mailing address of the new owner.
- The buyer must sign and date the form.
- Enter the lienholder information. If no liens exist, write the word "NONE" on the Lienholder/Lessor line.
- Enter the seller's full legal name.
- Enter the number of the seller's Nevada Driver's license or Identification card, or the FEIN if the OHV
  was registered to a business. If the seller does not have a Nevada Driver's license, ID card or FEIN for
  a business, write "NONE."
- Enter the seller's mailing address.
- The seller must sign and date the form.

# **OFF- HIGHWAY VEHICLE BILL OF SALE**

Please Type or Print Using Blue or Black Ink

#### Know all men by these presents

That in consi									<u> </u>		ars (\$		)
right, title and			•		•	wledged, the u vehicle:	undersign	ed (selle	r) doe	s hereb	y sell a	and tra	nster his
Vehicle Ident	ification N	lumber											
						odel:							
OHV Type:		otorcycle	□ Sno\	wmobile	□ All T	errain Vehicle		Side by S	ide		une Bı	ıggy	
		ther (Plea	se Explain) _										
By delivering	unto (if m	ore than t	wo owners, o	complete ar	nd attach a	n additional A	ffidavit of	OHV Priv	vate P	Party Sa	le):		and $\Box$
Owner #1 Fu	II Legal N	ame of B	uyer:	As it appears	on the Noved	a Driver's License	or Idoptifion	tion Cord. a	r Puoin	ooo Nom			$\_$ or $\square$
						EIN for a Busi							
Date of Birth:			Phone	Number: _			E-Mail (C	ptional):					
Physical Add	ress:	Addres	S			City				Stat	e		Zip Code
Mailing Addre	ess:												
Owner #2 Fu		Addres	SS			City				Stat	e		Zip Code
	Logari			As it appears	on the Nevad	a Driver's License	or Identifica	ition Card, c	or Busin	ess Name	9		
Nevada Drive	er's Licens	se Numbe	r, Identificatio	on Card Nu	mber, or F	EIN for a Busi	ness:						
Date of Birth:			Phone	Number: _			E-Mail (C	ptional):					
Signature of I	Buyer:									D;	ate:		
Lienholder/L	essor												
Buyer Certifie	es Lien In	Favor Of:		Full Legal Nar	ne of Individu	al or Business							
NV Driver's L	icense Nu	umber, Ide	entification Ca	ard Numbe	r, NV ELT	# or FEIN for a	a Busines	s:					
Mailing Addre	ess:												
-		Addres				City				Stat			Zip Code
Seller certifie to sell the afc except lienho	resaid; ar	nd that he	off-highway vo will warrant a	ehicle deale and defend	er; that he the title of	is the lawful ov same against	wner of sa the claim	aid off-hig is and de	ghway mand	vehicle s of all	; that l person	he has is who	the right mever
Seller's Full L	egal Nam	ne:	First			Middle						ast	
Nevada Drive	er's Licens	se Numbe		on Card Nu	mber, or F	EIN for a Busi	ness:						
Mailing Addre													
		Addres	S			City				Stat	e		Zip Code
Signature of	Seller:										Date:		

Signatures must be originals. Photocopies are not acceptable. Changes may not be made to this form once it is signed

OHV OFF-HIGHWW VEHICLES			Cars	N: OHV SECTION 555 Wright Way on City, NV 89711 (775) 684-4381 ax: (775) 684-4369 www.nvohv.com
Select Payment Type: ATM/Debit*		Payme	ent Amount: \$_	
Credit	Master Card	🗌 Visa	Discover	Card
Debit or Crea	dit Card Number (on	e number per box):		
Security Code (from the back of the card):		Expiration Da	ite:	
Printed Name: As it appears on the card				
Mailing Address:		City	State	Zip Code
Nevada Driver's License Number or Identificatio	n Card Number or F	EIN for a Business:		
Telephone Number: ()				
Authorized Signature:			Date:	

\*I understand and agree that by checking "ATM/Debit" I am authorizing the Department of Motor Vehicles to debit my account for the amount specified above. Further, I understand and agree that if the ATM/Debit transaction fails or is declined, I am authorizing the DMV to complete the transaction as a credit card charge, if possible.



## ARGE ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE INSURANCE DECLARATION NRS Chapters 482, 485 and 490

I hereby apply for registration for the large all-terrain vehicle described below and I declare that, while this vehicle is registered in my name, I will continuously provide in my name, security as required by NRS 485.185, by a motor vehicle liability insurance policy. **NOTE: THE VEHICLE MUST BE INSURED BY AN INSURANCE COMPANY LICENSED IN THE STATE OF NEVADA.** Out-of-State insurance will not be accepted.

Operation of the vehicle without having evidence of insurance of the vehicle in the possession of the operator of the vehicle; or failure or refusal to surrender, upon demand, to a peace officer or to an authorized representative of the Department the evidence of insurance, is a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine not to exceed \$100.

By signing this declaration you attest that the vehicle listed below meets the definition of a Large All-Terrain vehicle. (NRS 490 "Large all-terrain vehicle" means any all-terrain vehicle that includes seating capacity for at least two people abreast and: 1) Total seating capacity for at least four people; or 2) A truck bed.)

**NOTE:** It is a **gross misdemeanor** to use a false or fictitious name or address in this application for registration, or to knowingly make a false statement or knowingly conceal a material fact or otherwise commit a fraud in this application. All fields must be completed.

## PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE

<u>/ehicle Identification</u>	Number				
Year	Make			Model	
Name of Insurer					
Address of Insurer					
Policy Number	Address	City	State	Zip Code	
Effective Date		_ Expiration Da	ate		
Full Legal Name Nevada Driver's Lice Date of Birth, FEIN Physical Nevada Address					Last
Mailing Address	Address		City	State	Zip Code
Telephone	Address		<sup>City</sup> mail	State	Zip Code
				DATE	